Evolution of the Smṛti law
Read Online

Evolution of the Smṛti law a study in the factors leading to the origin and development of ancient Indian legal ideas. by Shivaji Singh

  • 372 Want to read
  • ·
  • 70 Currently reading

Published by Bhāratīya Vidyā Prakāśana in Varanasi .
Written in English


  • Hindu law -- History

Book details:

LC ClassificationsK S6175 E8
The Physical Object
Number of Pages306
ID Numbers
Open LibraryOL19420000M

Download Evolution of the Smṛti law


Full text of "Yajnavalkya the commentary of Vijnanevara called the Mitaksara and notes from the gloss of Balambhatta. Translated by Rai Bahadur Srisa Chandra Vidyarnava". To understand Manusmriti's place in Hinduism it’s important to understand it's evolution. Hindu literature can be broadly divided in two categories — “Shruti” meaning heard and “Smriti” meaning remembered. The Shruti literature which includes the. Smṛti: There is a multitude of smṛti texts. The main scriptures that come under smṛti are the Itihāsas, Purāṇas and Dharma Śāstras. Itihāsa means ‘verily it happened thus’ and means that it was composed as it happened. The two great epics, Rāmāyaṇa, and Mahābhārata which includes Bhagavad-Gītā, are . Cite this entry as: () Smṛti (Sanskrit). In: Runehov A.L.C., Oviedo L. (eds) Encyclopedia of Sciences and Religions. Springer,

Sati or suttee was a largely historical practice found chiefly among Hindus in the northern and pre-modern regions of South Asia, in which a widow sacrifices herself by sitting atop her deceased husband's funeral pyre.. The extent to which sati was practised in history is not known with clarity. However, during the early modern Mughal period, it was notably associated with elite Hindu Rajput. Degree of Authority of the Law (Smṛtis), Tradition (Purāṇas) and Epics (smṛti), the conduct of virtuous people and one's own conscience, these are declared to be the distinct four-fold sources of Dharma. (Manu ) would be meaningless without the analysis of the evolution of consciousness taught by the Sāṃkhya-Yoga Size: 2MB. Shakti (Devanagari: शक्ति, IAST: Śakti; lit."Energy, ability, strength, effort, power, capability") is the primordial cosmic energy and represents the dynamic forces that are thought to move through the entire universe in Hinduism, and especially the major tradition of Hinduism, Shaktism. Shakti is the personification of the Energy that is creative, sustaining, as well as.   I've been revising my second book, A History of Mindfulness, and I'm kinda amazed that anyone actually read it. It's hard going. For those with better things to do than wade through oceans of textual references, here's the sankhittena version. (For non-Pali geeks, that means the short version!) The word sati, which we translate 'mindfulness',.

adhyatma prasara (Sanskrit: "evolution of the Self") — the Self's evolution is a progressive unfoldment, growth and maturing toward its inherent, divine destiny, which is complete merger with Brahman. In its essence, the Self is ever perfect. But as an individual soul body emanated by Brahman, it is like a small seed yet to develop. Dakṣa-Smṛti, —‘The Householder, ever intent on his own duties, partakes of Heaven.’ Laghu-Viṣṇu-Smṛti, —‘Whatever has been prescribed in the Śruti and in the Smṛti,—all this should be done by the Housoholder; otherwise, he becomes open to censure.’. importantly the law on partition and inheritance. In the traditional scheme of dharma śāstra the law on adoption is discussed under dattāpradānikam, inheritance under dāyabhāga and the remaining topics are discussed under strī-pum-dharma. In this book, the law on inheritance has been discussed separately under Property, Family and Women. Hinduism is an Indian religion and dharma, or way of life, widely practiced in the Indian subcontinent and parts of Southeast Asia. Hinduism has been called the oldest religion in the world, and some practitioners and scholars refer to it as Sanātana Dharma, "the eternal tradition", or the "eternal way", beyond human history. Scholars regard Hinduism as a fusion or synthesis [6] [note 4.